2008 Tour

THE VILLAGE OF JORDAN

jordan-village

The village of Jordan, which was once called Hoy, was founded in 1840 by Jacob Snure, an immigrant from the United States. The village of Jordan was a hub of commerce in the 1840's. There were 2 or 3 hotels, including the Jordan House which dates back to that time period, a post office, several stores and at one time two town halls. It also supported a shipping industry in the Jordan Harbour to ports as far away as England. In 1846, the population was 200 people.

 

THE OLD POSTAL WAGON

wagonThe postal wagon which now resides at the Jordan Museum of the Twenty was used in the Jordan area for up to 30 years when its services were retired in 1952. Six days a week it's mail delivery took a total of 9 miles or 15 km. The price of postage was very high and was cost prohibitive for many of the early settlers. Therefore, letters were often sent without postage and it would be the responsibility of the receiver to pay the postage at the other end. Money also was often sent via the mail wagon and the drivers had to keep a sharp eye for robbers.

 

FIRST PLAY
- ONCE UPON A TIME IN JORDAN -
Playwright: John van der Beek

groupIn the 1840's, the local post office was the hub of information.  Nothing much slipped by the watchful eyes of post mistress Isabella Snure, including who was receiving a letter from whom and what it might be about.


CAST IN ORDER OF APPEARANCE

Clark
Francise
Isabella Snure 
Noah Albright
Mrs Perry   
Mrs High   
Mrs Hunsberger
James Black
Jacob Snure
Isaac Green
Augusta Schnick

Kristiaan Hansen Samantha Sargent
Sharon Fecik
Jonathan Kotwa Caroline Hansen
Joan Edwards
Maria Toye
Mark Miszturak
Terry Kotwa
Dennis Castello
Liz Brenneian

Snure-Sedgewick Homehome
Now The Mosaika Gallery
Owner: Robin and Randy Loewen
3769 Main Street

Circa 1880

Built in the Queen Anne style of architecture,  originally this building housed the post office until 1970.  In the 1800's, it was common for generations to carry on certain professions.  Such was the case of the postmaster.  Jacob Snure took over as postmaster in Jordan in 1853. His descendents carried on the tradition until 1962 with Alene Snure being the last postmaster of her family.


SECOND PLAY
- THE HAIR OF THE DOG -
Playwright: David Fanstone

Rum running was rampant in those days and even second-playthe most respectable citizens were sometimes involved. Local men appointed themselves as local militia in order to "deal with" the problems. Some of these local militia were less effective than others, often with rather comic results.


CAST IN ORDER OF APPEARANCE

Peter Hoogenboom
Lavinia Hoogenboom 
Silas

Calvin Quirk
Marilyn Bellfontaine
Ken Southward

twin-house

Twin house to the Snure-Sedgewick Home
Now the Glass Arts and Crafts
Current Owner:  Tina Howes
3773 Main Street, Jordan
Circa 1880

This house was also believed to have been built by a descendent of Jacob Snure.   It is believed that two brothers built both houses and lived side by side.


THIRD PLAY
- FREEDOMLAND -
Playwright:  Sheila Laundry

By the 1840's, the Niagara area had become a safe haven for slaves freedomescaped from the southern states. Many had harrowing tales to tell of their journeys on the "underground railroad".

CAST IN ORDER OF APPEARANCE

Mrs Culp
Dr Simeon  Goss 
Sarah Goss  
Benjamin Albright

Bailee Mailvoire
Jim Myles
Wendy Quirk
Trevor Blake

Kiddick House
Santa Fe Trading Lifestyle and Vanity Fair
Current Owner: Pam Mason and Karen D'Angelo
3799 Main Street 
Circa 1840

kiddick  houseThe house originally functioned as the home and offices of many doctors, including Dr. Elisha Jessop and Dr. Addy.   In later years it was the home of the famous potter Tess Kiddick.   It probably had a wraparound porch at one time and the unique brickwork and wood flooring is still in evidence today.  The original mounting stone for this house is located at the museum in front of the Fry House.


FOURTH PLAY
- FIDDLER IN THE HOUSE -
Playwright:  Neil Galloway

fiddlerSea going men of questionable pursuits had many an exciting tale to tell. Captain Joe is no exception. Everyone - well, almost everyone - gets caught up in his tales of the sea. Come on in an' hear one of these whalin' stories for yourself.  Oh, by the way, hope you're not afraid of the occasional ghost.

play4

CAST IN ORDER OF APPEARANCE

Captain Joseph Moyer
John Fanning 
John Spence  
Abraham Moyer
Fiddler

Jens Hansen
Rob Murre
Mike Cipryk
Jason Swenor
Beth Bartley

Jordan Vinegar Works
Cave Spring Cellarscellar
Owner: Len Pennachetti and Helen Young
Circa 1870

This building was originally the Jordan Vinegar Works. It was established by Clark Snure and his son Elderidge who made and sold, as advertised, "Jams, Jellies, Evaporated Fruits, Cider and Pure Cider Vinegar". Snure shipped barrels of dried apples throughout Ontario and overseas to England.  Women operated the presses in the valley below.  Archibald Haines, along with William Aiken of Dunnville, recognized the potential of the local grapes and established Jordan Wines, taken over in 1964 by the Danforth Wine Company, controlled by Seagrams.  Today, this beautiful facility still plays an important part of the fabric of Jordan now housing part of the Jordan Historical Museum, various boutiques, Cave Spring's winery shop and their world renowned restaurant, On The Twenty.


Fifth Play
- THE MEANING OF CHRISTMAS -
Playwright: Katherine Albers

christmas

No Christmas in the village would be complete without the traditional school concert.  We hope you enjoy this one a little more than some of the women in this village. I ask you, the nerve of some people!  Come on in and join us in our search for the true meaning of Christmas.

CAST IN ORDER OF APPEARANCE

Jacob Honsberger
Franklin Green
George Eckhardt
Miss Valerie Burham 
Mrs. Nash
Mrs. Wismer
Mr. Nash
Mr. Wismer
Emily Fretz
Audrey Johnson
Shirley Green
Louise Eckhardt
Anneliese Fretz 
Matilda Fisher 
Victoria Fisher 
Albert Fisher

Ben Cipryk
Nathan Kretz
Spencer Thomas
Jeannette Heil
Betsy Tauro
Carola Hicks
Damian Coleman
John Murre
Sarah Nicholson
Samantha Cooke
Basia Krzyzhowski
Megan Van Weeldon
Sarah Bradshaw
Karen Harkness
Lyndsay Cooke
Ben Friesen

Jordan Museum of the TwentyMuseum
Town of Lincoln
Helen Booth, Curator
Circa 1859

The first school was built in 1839 but destroyed by fire in 1858.  It was replaced with the current grey stone building at a cost of $1,221.  
A typical salary for in a teacher in 1847 would have been $97 for six months.  One of the early contracts for teachers states that if a teacher should come to work intoxicated he would not be paid for his time whiltst in that condition. The current structure served the needs of the community until the mid 1940's.



Misses Nettie and Nan's Tea Room

tearoomAfter your tour stop in for a strong cup of tea, coffee or some cider and some old fashioned, mouth watering desserts to help celebrate a Victorian Christmas season.

All the treats in Misses Nettie and Nan's Tea Room are homemade with the best ingredients. As always, local volunteer bakers participated in creating these scrumptious delights to warm your hearts and tummies!

Nan and Nettie always have something else "cooking" in the kitchen to entertain you as well. You are guaranteed to eat well, relax, visit with friends and leave with a smile.

Miss Nettie (proprietress) – Diana Bujas
Miss Nan (proprietress) – Suzanne Symsyk

Serverstea-pour

Jenn Yurkiw 
Tineke Leech
Elaine Hooker 
Vera delaat 
Barb Hudson
Jill Nicholson
Laura Brock

Vicki Bedford
Pat Konkle
Cathy Cookman
Joyce Gillespie
Margaret Maynard
Jennifer Turn


Bakers

Diana Bujas
Barb Hudson 
Brenda Saunders
Elaine Hooker
Joyce Gillespie
Pat Konkle
Jennifer Southward
Janet Gatecliff
The Beamsville Bakery

Suzanne Symsyk
Sue Miszturak
Jennifer Turner
Vicki Bedford
Jenn Yurkiw
Cheryl Steele
Kay Yardley
Sobey's
Old Post Bakery

Additional Cast members:

Jenn Yurkiw - Jeannette
Makenzie Smith - played Louise - niece of  Nan and Nettie
Xanthe Fiocca - played Emma - niece of Nan and Nettie

addtional

ST. JOHNS ANGLICAN CHURCH

3694 MacKenzie Drive, Jordanchurch
Reverend Philip Ruch, Pastor
Circa 1841

Constructed in 1841, the church is thought to be one of the first Tractarian (style) churches in Canada. The history of the church is significant due to the notable personages associated with its founding.

George Ball (founder of the settlement of Glen Elgin, now Balls Falls) donated the four acre parcel for the church and nearby cemetery.

The church itself was built by Newton Perry, a renowned master builder in the Niagara Region and is considered to be his masterpiece. The nearby cemetery is the resting place of many early settlers including members of the Butlers Rangers.


For more photos, click to the "Gallery" and "The Tours" menus ab at the top of the page.